Second quarter of #100DaysOfCode

Second quarter of #100DaysOfCode

ยท

4 min read

June 14, Second Quarter started

The first quarter of 100DaysOfCode went by nice and smooth (can't say the same about this one tho) and I learnt quite a lot of stuff, Like react, sass, node, git etc. Now this blog is about what I learnt in the second quarter

Day 26-27 ContextAPI ๐Ÿ“ค

I Wanted to learn ContextAPI in react so I started learning that by building a random mouse store cause why not, I found it quite hard to understand at first but now after using it a few times I understand it, still not totally tho

What I learnt here:

  1. Sharing states across your app
  2. Organizing react folder structure

The store I made

Day 28-29 TailwindCSS ๐Ÿ’จ

I was a bootstrap fan before learning tailwind, Now that I know tailwind I never want to use bootstrap ever again lol, it's just so good and makes it so efficient for us to code and without the hassle of thinking up good class names. I made a discord homepage by following Fireship's tutorial.

What I learnt here:

  1. TailwindCSS

The post from that day

Day 30-31 Open source contributions ๐Ÿค

I tried to make a good portfolio site like this one because I couldn't think of anything else to do. After that I was watching videos about open source and how to contribute, So I gave it a shot and It was really really fun. I started by making a navbar component for a crypto site and then I made a homepage for the same site too

What I learnt from this:

  1. Making pull requests
  2. Contributing to open source

Twitter post of that

Day 32-37 Fell sick, AGAIN ๐Ÿค’

Andddddd I fell sick once again, idk why but those two months weren't good for me I guess, but I still made a small contribution by building a country information page for a country search app, Also I messed up day numbers here in the tweet lol

Didn't learn anything new here :/

Post of that day

Day 38-40 Music Player๐ŸŽต

Made a music player using spotify's API and apparently you need to have a premium account to play music using their API, so I bought a week's worth premium just to make this thing XD

Didn't learn anything new, but had fun making the music player

Twitter Post

Day 40-41 REST APIs ๐Ÿ—„๏ธ

I wanted to know how to a REST API works since I was asked that in an interview and my answer was something along the lines of "It's an API that is resting on the server until someone calls data from it, that's why it's called REST API". Don't laugh please XD, So I first understood how it works by watching a video then I tried making my own

What I learnt from this:

  1. RESTful API
  2. A tiny bit of ExpressJS

Post of that day

Day 42 ValoScores ๐ŸŽฎ

I really wanted to make this project so I checked back and I was unbanned from the website I scrapped data from, So I remade the whole thing with a little help from Coding Garden's Video on web scraping AND from that video I also learnt how to convert the data I scrape into a API, Two birds with one stone! I had so much fun making this one

What I learnt:

  1. Web Scraping
  2. ExpressJS
  3. Making an API

Here's the site itself, It basically shows the score of professional Valorant matches going on, I'm gonna improve the UI tho

Day 43 Weather app changes โ˜๏ธ

I had to make changes to my old weather app project so I picked that up and made a few changes like default weathers and stuff

Didn't learn anything new

The weather app

Day 44-45 Portfolio bug fixes ๐Ÿ›

My portfolio was having some bugs, It had a huge white space on the side for some reason, and It wasn't really all that responsive on mobile view so worked on those and fixed them

Nothing new was learnt except that bootstrap is bad XD

Here's my portfolio, still not good lol

Day 46-50 E-commerce site ๐Ÿช

I wanted to make an e-commerce site that just has the functionalities like a cart system and I would add login logouts later on (Spoiler alert I added it). I had also discovered daisyui an open source tailwind component library, It made the job even easier with it's beautiful themes and components

What I learnt:

  1. Context
  2. useReducers
  3. more of tailwind
  4. Authentication with firebase

Fake-store

Conclusion

So that completes the first half of 100DaysOfCode ๐Ÿฅณ. this quarter wasn't as good as the first one but it had it's ups and downs and I'm satisfied with it and excited for what I'm gonna learn next, Gonna write a blog for the remaining quarters too. Till then, Sayonara.

ย